PCAN Explorer 5 stops responding

This forum covers issues concerning multiple software products.

PCAN Explorer 5 stops responding

Postby Pikachu » Thu 31. Mar 2016, 10:06

Hi!

I'm currently using PCAN Explorer 5.3.5.852 for testing with units which also requires logging of data every second. I'm running 2 PCAN Explorers at the same time, one is for saving trace messages and the other is for communicating with the unit by macro. When I was debugging for 2 hrs only, everything is working as expected. But when I tried to run it for 8-9hrs, PCAN explorers stopped responding occasionally. It's frustrating to see that after 8hrs of testing, the programs just stopped. No other programs/software running aside from these 2. I would like to know what could be the possible reason and how to manage this issue. Thanks for any help.
Pikachu
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu 31. Mar 2016, 09:49

Re: PCAN Explorer 5 stops responding

Postby M.Maidhof » Thu 31. Mar 2016, 15:31

Hi,

how much messages do you log in that time? Maybe your system ran out of memory, when you have a higher busload and you use dynamic buffering. That is why it will be better to use the LosslessTrace macro, which is included in each PCAN-Explorer setup, to log the data defined message packages directly on disk. Than you won´t run out of memory, when you want to log over a longer time.

BTW: there is a newer version of PCAN-Explorer available, see the news on the startpage of PCAN-Explorer for more details.

regards

Michael
M.Maidhof
Support
Support
 
Posts: 1157
Joined: Wed 22. Sep 2010, 13:00
Location: Darmstadt, Germany

Re: PCAN Explorer 5 stops responding

Postby Pikachu » Fri 1. Apr 2016, 05:51

Hello Michael,

Yes, I'm using the Lossless Trace macro but the problem still occurs from time to time. By the way, I attached here a screenshot of an error I'm frequently encountering. What could be the possible reason and how to resolve this? Unfortunately, I cannot update to the latest version. It would require more effort to debug and test the whole project again, deployment is asap. Thanks for any help.

Regards
Attachments
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (21.42 KiB) Viewed 3218 times
Pikachu
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu 31. Mar 2016, 09:49

Re: PCAN Explorer 5 stops responding

Postby U.Wilhelm » Fri 1. Apr 2016, 14:34

Please update first to the latest Version (V5.4.) - see Start Window of your Software.
You use the Release from March 201. If you still have this problem, please post the error code again, or contact us directly at support@peak-system.com
--------------------------------
PEAK-System Technik
Technical Support Team
support@peak-system.com
-------------------------------
User avatar
U.Wilhelm
Sales & Support
Sales & Support
 
Posts: 1004
Joined: Fri 10. Sep 2010, 18:34
Location: Darmstadt

Re: PCAN Explorer 5 stops responding

Postby Pikachu » Wed 6. Apr 2016, 06:08

Hi,

Tried updating to the latest version but still I encountered the error below. I just execute a sub function for time checking, and this error always pops up when I exit the explorer. The version I used was ver.5.4.0.877. Any solution?
Attachments
Capture2.JPG
Capture2.JPG (14.95 KiB) Viewed 3199 times
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (23.82 KiB) Viewed 3199 times
Pikachu
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu 31. Mar 2016, 09:49

Re: PCAN Explorer 5 stops responding

Postby M.Maidhof » Wed 6. Apr 2016, 08:42

Hi,

to help you with your problem, please send your project by email to our support email address. We must reproduce the issue here on our systems, to find the cause of this error.

regards

Michael
M.Maidhof
Support
Support
 
Posts: 1157
Joined: Wed 22. Sep 2010, 13:00
Location: Darmstadt, Germany


Return to Software



cron

This website uses cookies for analytics, for logins to the online shop and the forum, and for the handling of an order. By browsing this website you agree to the use of cookies. Detailed information on their use can be found in our privacy policy.

OKPrivacy Policy