Linux reboot PCan configuration

Windows® Compatible Software for Displaying CAN Messages

Linux reboot PCan configuration

Postby vasensio » Wed 12. Jun 2019, 09:59

Hello everybody,

I have detected a difference between PCan View on Windows and Linux, maybe you can help me to understand which is the difference and how can we avoid it.
Well, in both systems we can configure a specific configuration for PCan device:
- Clock frequency
- CAN FD or not
- Nominal bit rate
- Data bit rate
- Filter settings

Once we put this configuration, we can close the application and if we open again the application it keeps the same configuration.
However, if we reboot the OS the behavior is different because on Windows it keeps the same configuration but in Linux, this configuration is reset every time.

Can you help me with that, please? I need this configuration is keeping and doesn't change on Linux.

Best regards,

Víctor
vasensio
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed 17. Apr 2019, 07:10

Re: Linux reboot PCan configuration

Postby S.Grosjean » Wed 12. Jun 2019, 11:26

Hello,

When the pcan driver is (re)loaded then the bitrate settings are reset to their defaults. The pcanview application simply displays them. If you want to set a specific bitrate to a specific device, you might use the command line. For example:
Code: Select all
./pcanview -b 1M -c 80M /dev/pcanpcifd0

This command launches pcanview to watch the 1st channel of the PCAN-PCIe FD device, selecting its 80 Mhz clock and the 1Mbps bitrate (see also $ pcanview --help).

Another workaround would be to change the default bitrate of the pcan driver (see modules parameters "btr0btr1", "bitrate" and "dbitrate").

Best regards,
— Stéphane
User avatar
S.Grosjean
Software Development
Software Development
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Wed 4. Jul 2012, 16:02

Re: Linux reboot PCan configuration

Postby vasensio » Wed 12. Jun 2019, 14:03

Hello Grosjean,

Thanks for your quick answer.
I see we can change configurations like bitrate, clock, dbitrate and so on. I would like to know if we have the possibility to establish a previously "sample point" value from parameters. I haven't seen anything related to these parameters, probably you can guide me a little bit to change these specific values.

Another time, thank you very much.

Best regards,

Víctor
vasensio
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed 17. Apr 2019, 07:10

Re: Linux reboot PCan configuration

Postby S.Grosjean » Wed 12. Jun 2019, 15:03

Hi,

The reason is that you don't run the last version of pcanview-ncurses. Please send an e-mail to linux@peak-system.com, asking for the last version of pcanview-ncurses for linux. Please include the outputs of:
Code: Select all
$ uname -a
$ cat /etc/os-release

in the body of your email and then we will send you the corresponding debian package.

Regards,
— Stéphane
User avatar
S.Grosjean
Software Development
Software Development
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Wed 4. Jul 2012, 16:02


Return to PCAN-View



This website uses cookies for analytics, for logins to the online shop and the forum, and for the handling of an order. By browsing this website you agree to the use of cookies. Detailed information on their use can be found in our privacy policy.

OKPrivacy Policy